Due to the Covid-19 statewide closures, the Baker-Nord Center’s spring undergraduate events have been postponed.

Undergraduate funding and fellowships are still being awarded this semester!
Current CWRU Students Can Apply Here

Please note that most of these events are for students only.
To view the Baker-Nord Center’s calendar of adult public lectures & events, please click HERE.

SPRING 2020

Date Event
Wed., January 30, 2020
8:00 – 9:00 pm
PBL 04
Careers in Consulting
Consult Your Community CWRU Chapter Meeting
Hosted by the pre-consulting student group
Wed., February 5, 2020
4:45 – 5:45 pm
Sears Library 213
Finding Summer Internships (Highlighting Departmental Funding)
Featuring Marin Exler, who will discuss her Wellman-Hill Grant
Hosted by Post-Graduate Planning & Experiential Education
Fri., February 7, 2020
12:45 – 2:00 pm
Sears Library 333
Careers in Law
The Promise & Peril of Human Genetic Engineering
Hosted by the PGP&EE Pre-Law Adviser and CWRU Law School
Mon, February 10, 2020
Veal Convocation
CWRU Career Fair
Spring Get Experienced Career Fair
Hosted by Post-Graduate Planning & Experiential Education
Mon., February 17, 2020 Humanities Open House
Invited sessions for visiting students and their families
Tues., February 18, 2020
4:30 – 5:30 pm
Sears Library 213
Finding Summer Internships (Highlighting Practicums)
Featuring Madeline Myers, who will discuss her Practicum at the Cuyahoga Co. Prosecutor’s Office
Hosted by Post-Graduate Planning & Experiential Education
Wed., March 4, 2020
4:45 – 5:45 pm
Sears Library 213
Finding Summer Internships (Highlighting Humanities@Work)
Featuring Anna Koch, who will discuss her Humanities@Work Summer Internship in India
Hosted by Post-Graduate Planning & Experiential Education
Wed., March 25, 2020
4:30 – 5:30 pm
Clark 206
Humanities@Work WORKSHOP
Finding Connections for Summer Internships

Facilitated by Lisa Grisez-Shullick from PGP&EE
Co-hosted by Post-Graduate Planning and the Baker-Nord Center
Fri., March 27, 2020
12:45 – 2:00 pm
Clark 206
Humanities@Work: PANEL
Lunch with HR & Recruiting Experts
Hear what the region’s top recruiters are looking for when they interview job candidates. And learn how to get the most of your humanities degree once you have a job offer.
Fri., March 27, 2020 Humanities Open House
Invited sessions for visiting students and their families

Thur., April 2, 2020
6:00 – 7:00 pm
Clark 206
Humanities@Work: PANEL
Careers in Medicine and Healthcare
Meet accomplished doctors, healthcare professionals, and medical students — all of whom were once humanities undergraduate students. Learn how they achieved their successes, and get their advice on how to plan the next step towards beginning your own career.
Fri., April 3, 2020 Humanities Open House
Invited sessions for visiting students and their families

Wed., April 8, 2020
4:30 – 5:30 pm
Clark 206
Humanities@Work WORKSHOP
Making the Most of Summer Internships
Facilitated by Lisa Grisez-Shullick from PGP&EE
Co-hosted by Post-Graduate Planning and the Baker-Nord Center
Fri., April 10, 2020 Humanities Open House
Invited sessions for visiting students and their families

Fri., April 17, 2020 Humanities Open House
Invited sessions for visiting students and their families

Fri., April 17, 2020
Veale Convocation
The Guthrie Prize at Research ShowCASE
Guthrie Public Speaking Competition
Final Round & Award Ceremony
Tues., Apr 28, 2020
9:30 am – 3:30 pm
Clark 206
 The Spring Humanities STUDY JAM
Tues., Apr 29, 2020
9:30 am – 3:30 pm
Clark 206
The Spring Humanities STUDY JAM

 


FALL 2019

Date Event
Thur., August 29, 2019
7:15 pm – 8:45 pm
Wickenden 321
Bain & Company
Consulting Information Session
Fri., September 13, 2019
12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Sears 333
Writing Personal Statements for Law School
Tues., September 17, 2019
5:00 pm – 6:00 pm
KSL – LL06 B&C
Making a Good Impression with Employers (Career Fair Prep)
Fri., September 27, 2019
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work: SUMMER INTERNSHIPS
Grants & Fellowships Lunch Celebration
Fri., September 27, 2019
4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Wickenden 321
McKinsey & Company Information Session
Thur., October 3, 2019
11:00 am – 3:00 pm
Veale Center
University Career Fair
Fri., October 4, 2019
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Veale Center
Choices Fair and CCEL’s Community Service & Internship Fair
Thur., October 10, 2019
5:30 pm – 6:45 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work: NONPROFITS
Careers for the Common Good
(Dinner and Panel Discussion)
Fri., October 11, 2019
12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Sears 333
Professor Raymond Ku’s Talk of Cyberspace Law 
Wed., October 16, 2019
4:30 pm – 5:30 pm
KSL-LL06
A Life at the Intersection of the Public, Private, & Nonprofit Sectors with Lee Fisher
Thur., October 24, 2019
4:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Sears 213
Postgraduate Planning & Experiential Education
Finding Summer Internships Workshop for Arts & Sciences Majors
Fri., October 25, 2019
12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work Jumpstart Your Search Workshop #1
Crafting Your Elevator Pitch
(Working Lunch)
Wed., October 30, 2019
6:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work: ENTERTAINMENT
Careers in Marketing, Music, & Theater
(Dinner & Panel Discussion)
Fri., November 1
12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work Jumpstart Your Search Workshop #2
Standing Out in the Digital Age
(Working Lunch)
Fri., November 1, 2019
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Veale Convocation Ctr
Summer Programs in CLE : Internships & Professional Development (The Cleveland Foundation, Summer on the Cuyahoga, Cleveland Hillel, and The Cleveland Leadership Center)
Wed., November 6, 2019
4:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Sears 213
Postgraduate Planning & Experiential Education
Finding Summer Internships Workshop for Arts & Sciences Majors
Fri., November 8, 2019
12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work Jumpstart Your Search Workshop #3
Maximizing Your Social Media Presence
(Working Lunch)
Fri., November 8, 2019
12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Sears 333
Learn from the Lawyers: Immigration, Corporate and IP Law
Thur., November 21, 2019
4:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Sears 21
Postgraduate Planning & Experiential Education
Finding Summer Internships Workshop for Arts & Sciences Majors

 


SPRING 2019

Date Event
Fri., February 1, 2019
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work Meetup & Lunch
Thur., February 4, 2019
4:00 – 5:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Identifying Research Opportunities in the
Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences
Wed., February 13, 2019
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work: PUBLIC RELATIONS
Exploring Careers in Marketing & PR
Networking Luncheon
Fri., March 1, 2019
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work Meetup & Lunch
Tues., March 5, 2019
by invitation only
Student Conversation with THINK! Guest
Julia Ioffe
Wed., March 20, 2019
Time TBD
Clark Hall, 206
Humanities@Work: NONPROFITS
Careers for the Common Good
Dinner & Panel Discussion
Fri., March 29, 2019 Application Deadline!
The Ellen & Matt Feldman Internship Grants
Fri., March 29, 2019
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work Meetup & Lunch
Wed., April 10, 2019
6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities@Work: BEYOND THE NOVEL
Exploring Careers in Holywood, Criticism, & Publishing!
Dinner & Panel Discussion
Thurs., April 11, 2019 Student Conversation with THINK! Guest
Viet Thanh Nguyen
Mon., April 15, 2019 Application Deadline!
Humanities@Work Summer Internship Stipends
Fri., April 19, 2019
1:30 pm – 2:30 pm
Veale Convocation Ctr
Guthrie Public Speaking Competition
at Research ShowCASE
Tues., April 30, 2019
9:00 am – 3:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities STUDY JAM!
Wed., May 1, 2019
9:00 am – 3:00 pm
Clark Hall 206
Humanities STUDY JAM!

 


FALL 2018

Date Event
September 7 FRONT:International Bus Tour
September 7 Welcome Back Reception: A Celebration of Sculpture
September 14 Humanities Career Meetup
September 26 Career Fair Workshop
October 1 ANNUAL INTERNSHIP RECOGNITION LUNCHEON
October 1 Career Fair Workshop
October 12 Humanities Career Meetup
October 26 FALL H@W NETWORKING LUNCHEON:
NARRATIVE AND FUNDRAISING
November 5 Fellowships Workshop
November 7 Dinner with the Humanities Chairs (by invitation only)
November 9 Humanities Careers Meetup
November 14 FALL H@W PANEL: CAREERS IN LAW
December 10 Humanities Study Jam!