BNC Scholars CMA

The purpose of the Baker-Nord Scholars in the Humanities program is to integrate incoming students into the life of the Humanities community at CWRU, offering them the benefits of a small liberal arts college within a leading research university. It is intended to supplement their experience within the department of their future major and foster interdisciplinary connections across the campus and the community, including the rich cultural resources of Cleveland. Students accepted into the program will be designated “Baker-Nord Scholars in the Humanities,” a designation that they will retain along with program benefits, for as long as they maintain good academic standing and proceed in a timely manner to declare a major in one of the affiliated Humanities departments.



Students who accept a place in the program receive the following benefits:

  • Guaranteed enrollment in a Fall-semester, 1-credit hour, pass/fail course, Humanities 101 “Colloquium in the Humanities.”
  • Participation in the Baker-Nord Scholars Fellowship Program, offering students a $500 fellowship in support of their advanced research in the Humanities.
  • Second-level advising in the Humanities and career opportunities (in addition to their regular academic advisors).
  • Special opportunities to meet with visiting scholars and lecturers.
  • The opportunity to plan an event aimed at undergraduates as part of the Cleveland Humanities Festival (, to be held in the following Spring and funded by the Baker-Nord Center.




2017-2018 Baker-Nord Scholars in the Humanities:

Austin Amadio Izzy Davidson Nandita Kannapadi Paul McCabe Meredith Roach Kasey Vangelov
Kyle Barclay Nick Forbes Sonny Kim Morgan McCommon Jeremy Rodrigues Bailey Weir
Harrison Bloom Jared Goff Cassandra Knaggs Marika Meijer Jack Schubert Sydney Wilson
Ben Bulpitt Will Huffmyer Jennifer Marer Chloe Mieras Aleksa Sorgatz
Hannah Clarke Serena Juchnowski Chris Markham Aparna Paul Katie Toledo



2016-2017 Baker-Nord Scholars in the Humanities:

Emily Ahidtrom Mark Hornyak John McDonald Zachary Tirgan
Lauren Dostal Claire Howard Richard Pannullo
Tamara Herst Hanna Kadlec Andrew Shin